Side Note: Birthdays

Yesterday was my birthday and, it’s kind of weird, but–it didn’t feel like it.

That isn’t to say that the birthday itself, despite what could have happened to celebrate it, would have ever felt like my birthday, but it just seems like it came up so fast.  I’ve been so busy, so nose to table, for the past, I don’t know, six months, that Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and my birthday just seem to have passed me by.

It makes me sad because the fall and winter is my favorite time of year and I hate to have missed it for the most part.

But, and I guess this is to my credit, my birthday is fairly largely forgotten; it’s never a huge production.  Don’t get me wrong, the people that matter for the most part are the ones who remember my birthday, but there’s very little fanfare, very little going on that it just kind of comes and goes like any other day and no one–sometimes myself included–is really all the wiser.

I’m 24 now, and while 24 isn’t known for being all that special of a year, I feel like this year is my year, that the anxiety I felt at 22 and 23 will give way to some really incredible opportunities.  Career paths, callings, new skills being built–ahoy! I think some cool things will happen.

Leave a Reply

