The Engagement and its Short Road to Marriage

It’ll be news here since I have not yet shared it on my blog, but I am now, officially, engaged!

FullSizeRender 2

Party hats, fireworks, and fish flags for everyone! (Note: that is not my hand. Mine are much bigger, much hairier, more nightmare inducing.)

This news is actually not terribly new anymore seeing as how it happened a week and a half ago, but I’ve been busy: I’ve had family in town, and writing a blog post about my wedding to come fell behind actually planning the wedding when it came to level of importance.

But this is an exciting time, to state the obvious.  It doesn’t feel like all that long ago that I was a teenager who had never had a girlfriend, that I was thinking I would probably never find someone who actually liked me back.  It doesn’t feel like that long ago that I was a kid playing with toys, only preoccupied with kid-type things, caring nothing for what adulthood would bring so long as it didn’t distract from right now.  It doesn’t seem like that long ago that I was involved in a dead-end relationship with a girl that cared less about the actual marriage and more about how Instagram worthy the engagement and wedding were.

I met my fiancĂ©e two years ago and it doesn’t feel like it’s been that long.

IMG_5853.JPG

Things happen quick, our engagement will be quick (it’s June now and we will be getting married in 5 months), and so often, life changes with a snap of the finger–for good or for bad.

Being engaged is an exciting thing, being married will be an exciting thing. So much to come is nerve-wracking and scary, but I’m excited to see it all play out.

One thought on “The Engagement and its Short Road to Marriage

  1. Pingback: I Want to Read About You – The Harbored and Homesick

Leave a Reply

