E3 2017: My Hopeful Predictions

It’s Friday evening, I have family coming into town tomorrow, but I can’t help but to be excited about what’s supposed to be coming down the pipeline at E3 this week.

For those of you that are unaware, E3 is a major showcase involving video games, near exclusively (you’ve been reading this blog long enough to know that they will pop up now and then). But E3 isn’t just a convention about video games—it is the convention about video games. Every year, every major developer, every major publisher, all of the big names and some of the small ones, gather together in the LA Convention Center to show off not only what will be coming out over the next year, but what will be coming over the next two or three years. E3 is HUGE (if you’re into that sort of stuff) and usually, in the week leading up to all of the press conferences and unveilings, I like to talk to friends of mine about what they think, and what I think, will be shown off this year when it all gets going: what games will be there, what won’t, what this company will do to edge itself ahead of the others, and who will have everyone with a fistful of dollars, shoving money into their computer screens.

This year was no different, and since I have plans to write up a couple of posts next week about what I’m most excited about after this E3 has passed, I wanted to take a moment to lay out some ideas for what I would like to see most. This isn’t necessarily what I think will be there, but more so, given a wishlist of probable inclusions, what would I like to show up.

Animal Crossing for the Nintendo Switch

I’m being completely honest when I say that this is probably what I’m hoping for most. There’re a lot of games I hope to see more of, and others I hope to see for the very first time, but when I think about what would perhaps make me the most excited this year, I can’t help but to feel that it would be this news from Nintendo.

Animal Crossing is an odd bird. It’s popular, but not mainstream popular the way that Mario or Zelda are for the company, and while the last mainline entry for the 3DS was, by all accounts, very successful, Animal Crossing is still a niche title the way I would say that Pikmin or Metroid probably are; the series certainly has its fans, and rabid ones at that, but I don’t believe the title is far reaching enough to be a widespread system seller.

That being said, the previous Animal Crossing was a system seller for me. I bought a 3DS because of Animal Crossing: New Leaf. Granted, there were other things that I wanted to play, which justified the purchase, but Animal Crossing pulled the trigger for me and made the first few months with my new handheld overwhelmingly joyful.

All of this being said, I don’t believe there to be much chance of this news coming. Nintendo will more than likely put a lot of focus on Mario Odyssey, maybe outline some vague plans for their Virtual Console, and tease the return of some of their flagship franchises (Donkey KongKirby, a Smash port probably) to the Nintendo Switch. It doesn’t mean I wouldn’t be super duper excited for Animal Crossing to show up in a really big way, but I would place my bet for the next entry in the series to show up during a Nintendo Direct sometime during the next year.

The Elder Scrolls VI is Teased

Although so much less likely than the Animal Crossing prediction, I would love for a new The Elder Scrolls game to be announced. It’s been roughly 5 1/2 years since The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim and, time wise, it feels like we’re due something new. The problem with the prediction is that during that time, Skyrim has been remastered multiple times over—a new edition of which will be hitting the Switch soon—not to mention they have an MMO they’ve had going for years and their CCG—The Elder Scrolls: Legends—is pretty spanking new.

The possibility of it being at the show isn’t nonexistent, but I believe it to be low. That being said, I don’t know what exactly Bethesda will have to fill their time slot this year. Dishonored 2 came out last fall, Prey came out last month, and the newest expansion for their online Elder Scrolls was released this past spring.  They may have a new Wolfenstein entry or some DLC for Dishonored 2, but a new proper Elder Scrolls entry could be just the thing they need.

Who knows!

Bloodborne 2 or Some Other Souls-Type Game is Revealed

I honestly would not be too surprised if this happened, reason being: the Dark Souls series is one of the more fantastically popular cult-series of the last couple of generations. It doesn’t necessarily draw everyone in, but the fans the game does have clamor to partake of whatever is thrown their way—I am certainly one of them. And while the creator of the series has been rather clear that Dark Souls will probably not be seen for awhile, Bloodborne, a very similar title of the same vein by the same company, is not Dark Souls, and is entirely up in the realm of possibility for a follow-up entry of its own.

All of that being said, Bloodborne seemed to me like a one-off—a brilliant one-off, but a one-off nonetheless. I would honestly be more surprised at a Bloodborne sequel than I would an entirely new entry set in an entirely new setting. I don’t imagine anything to be all too groundbreaking, but something set in something less European could be on the table.

The New Assassin’s Creed Title Shows Up and it. is. Awesome!

The first part of this prediction will, 100% happen: a new entry in the Assassin’s Creed series will most certainly be at E3 this year. Leaks have been flowing out of the pipes in the form of images, artwork, and screenshots, and given the fact that we knew from the beginning that Assassin’s Creed would be taking last year off, it is the worst kept secret that an AC in Egypt will be showing up this year.

The question then is: will it be good? Which I answer with a resounding…I hope so? Look, Assassin’s Creed has been on weird footing since its third entry. With much of the central meta-conflict resolved, the fourth entry onward have struggled to connect the series’ historical roots to its futuristic ones.

Granted, Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag and Assassin’s Creed: Syndicate are some of my more favorite entries in the series, but that doesn’t detract from the fact that Ubisoft needs something big. This next entry needs to be good, and while I don’t believe they’ll find a meaningful way to tie the future to the past, I entirely believe that an extra year in the oven will make this title great.

A Return by One of the PS2 Mascots

It’s been a really long time since we’ve seen anything regarding the Sly Cooper and Jak and Daxter franchises. Ratchet and Clank has been active for years, but those two in the mascot triumvirate have been silent (for the most part) since their heyday during the PS2’s reign. And as much as I would kill for a new Jak and Daxter, I would have to give probability to the Sly Cooper series on this one. Sucker Punch, its original developers, passed the baton a while back and the company that took over created an incredible homage to what Sly Cooper was at the peak of its popularity. I’m not entirely sure how well that game sold vs. how well they were needing it to, but it’s been four years since that entry came out and since then there’s been nothing.

The return of that era’s 3D platformers is in quite the full swing: Crash Bandicoot will be returning soon and Yooka-Laylee, while not a returning staple, is definitely a throwback to an older time. And it wouldn’t surprise me if that theme continued with the return of one of these.

Sort of related, it also wouldn’t surprise me if we heard from Sucker Punch too. They’ve been largely silent for three-ish years—here’s hoping we hear something.

 

E3 is only a day or two away it’s sure to be full of surprises. I’m hoping for something really BIG, but I’m certain we’ll see something good. I’ll write a follow up or two at some point next week after all of the dust has settled, but in the meantime we wait, until it all gets started; let’s see how this goes.

One thought on “E3 2017: My Hopeful Predictions

  1. Pingback: Post-E3 2017: What I’m Most Excited For – The Harbored and Homesick

Leave a Reply

